Twitter Introduces ‘Mute Button’ To Free Up Your Timeline
Follow people on Twitter who tweet too much? But don’t have the heart to unfollow them?
Recently annonced in a blog post, Twitter has released a new feature where you can ‘Mute’ people you follow, and their tweets will no longer show up in your timeline.
To mute a user, goto their profile, click on the gear/ settings icon, then Mute.
The Twitter blog mentiones that: Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user.
The muted user will still be able to favorite, reply to and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted him/her, and of course you can unmute at any time.